My first wine tasting session… PART 1

It happened! I lead my first wine tasting session… It was a good first time I guess!

So, a combination of events made it happen. A colleague of mine, Pablo, is working at a client and they were organising this event and they needed someone to present the wines. So he thought about me and I was very happy to do it!

The location was the Humbe Grape (the one in St. Paul area) and there were I think around 40-50 people there… It was quite challenging and also fun to talk to so many people that actually asked me a lot of interesting questions and were very curious about the wines we had. So nice!

So, I will split the wines into two blogs. In this blog post I will write about the 2 white wines we had and here you can find out more about the 2 red wines.

1 DOMAINE RAYMOND MORIN LA SAUVIGNOLE 2014 – LOIRE VALLEY (FRANCE)

Grape variety: Sauvignon blanc

Price: 14 £ (take out price)

Alcohol: 12%

VISUAL EXAMINATION

Clarity: Crystal clear

Color: Greenish yellow

Consistence: Moderately consistent

OLFACTORY EXAMINATION

Intensity: Mod. Intense

Complexity: Mod. Complex 

Quality: Good

Description: Fruity, in particular unripe and green fruit, citric flavours, something herbaceous

TASTE-OLFACTORY EXAMINATION

Sugars: Dry

Polyalcohols: Moderately smooth

Alcohols: Mod. warm

Acids: Fresh

Minerality: Mod. mineral

Structure or body: Medium body 

Balance: Mod. balanced

Intensity: Mod. intense

PAI-Lenght: Mod long

Quality: Good

I think this wine was mature, I do not think ageing would improve it. It is moderately harmonious, I would give it a 73/100 as score.

Very easy to drink and nice, but not complex and not so interesting as you can find out from the description I gave. I would say, a summer wine, fresh and also nice to drink alone.

2 QUINTA DOS CASTELARES COLHEITA BRANCO – 2014 – DOC DOURO (PORTUGAL)

Grape variety: Codega de Larinho, Rabigato, Gouveio

Price: 11 £ (take out price)

Alcohol: 13%

VISUAL EXAMINATION

Clarity: Crystal clear

Color: Straw yellow (with some golden reflexes) 

Consistence: Moderately consistent

OLFACTORY EXAMINATION

Intensity: Intense

Complexity: Mod. Complex 

Quality: Good

Description: Very fruity vs ripe fruit, white peach, exotic fruit, such as passion fruit. Some mint flavours and also some traces at the taste. Nice mineral scents as well.

TASTE-OLFACTORY EXAMINATION

Sugars: Dry

Polyalcohols: Moderately smooth

Alcohols: Mod. warm

Acids: Fresh

Minerality: Mineral

Structure or body: Medium body 

Balance: Mod. balanced

Intensity: Mod. intense

PAI-Lenght: Mod long

Quality: Good

Despite in Douro Valley, north of Portugal, red wines such as Porto are indeed the most known and famous, this white wine made of indigenous grape varieties (I did not hear on none of them before) it is quite surprising and pleasant. Not very complex as well, but more interesting than the previous one. I think it is mature and moderately harmonious, I would give it a 77/100.

Reading about it, I found out the producer made the wine ferment into French oak barrels and then aged it in stainless steels (usually it works in the opposite way).

You can continue to read the following post about the red wines.

One thought on “My first wine tasting session… PART 1

Leave a Reply

