Colline Senesi, Tuscany – August ’17

After being in Langhe (Piedmont) last October (click here to read about my experience there), I could not miss the opportunity to visit Tuscany, another place to go to try some of the best Italian wines…

Indeed, quite a different experience, first of all because it was very very warm (38-40 degrees). And I did not experience that before, but drinking red wines during the day with those temperatures is very challenging. Also, because I was there not only with Davide, but also with our parents (yes..). It was not easy to organise wine tastings and visits to vineyards and probably I would have done even more – but I am happy we “only” visited 3 vineyards, it was TOO HOT!

Why Colline Senesi, Tuscany? Because Tuscany is the symbol of Italian wine all over the world, they produce there some of the finest wines which they export all over the world. Chianti Classico, Brunello di Montalcino, Sassicaia, are just some of the names, but the name that counts the most is SANGIOVESE. Sangiovese is a grape variety, the one that in my opinion made Tuscany so famous!

So, after landing in Pisa, our parents picked us up from the airport and we went to Siena all together. We stayed in an amazing place, called I Tetti di Siena, a super nice b&b in Siena’s city center (I’d recommend it!).

VIEW FROM THE B&B

20170803_175407.jpg

 

Winery visits

I organised all the visits and wine tasting, as I did as well for the Langhe experience, of course with the collaboration of our parents that also wanted to be involved in the choice. We started from this list I built and then we went down and choose the 3 places to visit.

FIRST LIST

Capture

FINAL LIST

  1. Castello di Ama: Gaiole in Chianti (Siena)
  2. Badia a Coltibuono: Gaiole in Chianti (Siena)
  3. Le Potazzine: Montalcino (Siena)

This time we visited 3 vineyards in 2 days, we could have done more but with different temperatures 🙂

What I bought

I will add a picture of my 12 bottles as soon as they are shipped in London, I am so excited about them and cannot wait to put them in my wine fridge.

Best experience?

Le Potazzine Siena.jpg

Le Potazzine vineyard has been the best experience in Tuscany, maybe because it was much smaller compared to the other 2, but I just got a better feeling, a better visit and wine tasting experience. The Parus, Rosso di Montalcino and Brunello di Montalcino we had there just got into my heart.

Le potazzine wines

It was an emotional experience!

Simona.jpg

I really think that it is worth going to visit Siena – the city is beautiful! – and its hills, there is a lot to discover about small towns, traditions and excellent wines there. I will definitely go back to explore further – next time maybe in early Autumn! Please, if you are organising a trip there, write me if you want any tips! 🙂

Simona

 

One thought on “Colline Senesi, Tuscany – August ’17

Leave a Reply

